A-Z Writing

Cemetery:

Image result for scary cemetery

I lay still in the middle of the unseen dusk, shivering as I felt a presence of something insidious lurking the night. I felt an evilness of aghast peer into my soul, as my eyes wandered upon the deadness of thousands of soul lost in an eternity of sadness.

The moon had been out of sight, caught up in the thick fog that filled the crisp autumn air. Columns and rows of bodies lined the cemetery, that seem to travel out till no end.

The warmth from my breath scurried my body leaving me ice cold. The iciness made my voice crack, every inch of my body had been robbed of it’s worth and liveliness. I almost heard myself become breathless. Blood dripping from my mouth, the taste was pungent, an illusion I created in my mind.

I woke and so did the dead.

I repetitively heard voices I thought existed in my mind, but it became apparent they were in the distance of the darkness that en-caved itself over me.

An animist being stood before me seeking life and warmth once again, barricading the liveliness that resided within my soul. In possession of life once again.

I stood helpless as my feet stayed cemented to the ground by a perilous feeling that embodied my being with insanity. The projection of death glared down upon me as it strangled me of all life as I sought to fight for air. I soon found its arms around my throat, squeezing down aggressively  arms wrapped firmly around my fragile neck. It’s yellow stained nails embedded through my neck.

I heard a snap.

Everything went dark.

I lay still in the abyss of the night, wandering further and further into the unknown, forever alone.

The prevalent creature awoke in possession of my soul.

Waterway:

Related image

The dancing waters drowned my thoughts. Completely erased my inner being and replaced by its soft glittering appearance. The sight of its purity was breathtaking, it reflected its essence against the day sky gleaming in the nights presence, blinding me of its naked beauty.

It’s energy was moving, it had an immerse amount of control over my bodies movement. I was hypnotized, I wanted to jump in, but I had to control myself breaking the urge. It’s pull of liveliness and radiance beneath brought me to the edge, distancing myself backwards stunned at its deep blue complexions.

 

The grey undertones reminded me much of the ocean, as my thoughts lingered of what lived within. For a moment I wondered if the water was magic, as it glistened in every angle the sun’s fiery rays shone.

 

The secluded body was found down by the river. The feeling was enlightening, rather freeing as the water thoughtlessly flowed below the walkway surrounded by the autumn leaves that spilled on the surface of the water.

 

All my troubles had fled disappearing through the calming sensation of its coolness, as the soft splashes of nature crashed upon the rocks. It’s selflessness left me accompanied by a sensational perception of stillness and peace.

Emergency:

Image result for emergency call

The call of a nightmare leaving you dry.

 

The thoughts embedded in your mind arousing a feeling of uneasiness.

 

The clock ticks and so does his life

 

A switch of life

 

Leaving you in regret

 

Days go by and so does life

 

An angel craving chaos

 

While our demons seek peace

 

No excuse could bury moments truth

 

A heart beat is a precious timer ticking constantly

 

Once the beating of a heart is silenced

 

We punish ourselves with guilt

 

Life is unexpected

 

Love tends to hurt

 

And hurt tends to bind

 

A cycle of life and death

 

One day we must all return

 

Buried beneath the cold ground of fleeting memories

 

Concealed in the darkness our hearts decipher

1 Thought.

  1. Dearest Ziyana,

    In both your Cemetery and Waterway entries, I love the way that you use descriptive imagery to set the scene for readers like me. By easily setting the atmosphere of the entry with certain descriptors such as “insidious” in Cemetery and “soft glittering” and “purity” in Waterway, I can certainly say they were very effective.

    In Emergency, I love the choppiness of the flow of thoughts as I read each line and the way you used contradictions in the lines:
    “An angel craving chaos
    While our demons seek peace”
    That was something that blew me away as it isn’t something you usually think about when you envision angels and demons.

    Some suggestions for improvements would be:
    1) In Cemetery, your opening paragraph could have more indirect descriptions to the message you want to convey. When you say:
    “shivering as I felt a presence of something insidious lurking the night.”, I would recommend using your style of imagery to make it a “show” and not a “tell”. For example, “shivering as I felt the bitter wind caress my body with its cold fingers, as if I was already accepted into this exclusive party.”

    2) In Emergency, I am unsure if you meant to punctuate or not punctuate, as your first two sentences have periods at the end, but the rest have none. So please have a look at that.

    Overall, phenomenal pieces, and I wish you all the best in your CWR journey!

    Sincerely,
    Aaron

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar